Thread: How to get AI semen?

Default How to get AI semen?

I am new to AI, just finished taking a course on it about a week ago and we are wanting to start AIing our own cows.

With that being said how does someone go about getting semen?
    Do I call a breeding company and have them deliver semen?
    Even if I want to AI the cows myself will they still help me learn the ropes of buying the right semen and any other questions I might have?

Thanks!

Yeah, any ai company will be more than happy to sell you semen.
    DiederichFarm
    "You are only as good as your next success, not your last" Sir Jock Stirrup

Quote Originally Posted by drdiederich View Post
    Yeah, any ai company will be more than happy to sell you semen.
    And many more want to annoy you!

Sent from my iPhone using Tapatalk

Do they come right out to the farm to do so? I'm so new to this!
    What do I need to know/say when I originally call?

Do you own a tank? Is it full of nitrogen?
    Back in the day we used 21st century and they would fill our tank with nitrogen if we bought their semen. The cows were all on their MAP program.

Quote Originally Posted by sammyd View Post
    Do you own a tank? Is it full of nitrogen?
    Back in the day we used 21st century and they would fill our tank with nitrogen if we bought their semen. The cows were all on their MAP program.
    Yes we own a tank and it is full of nitrogen, ready to be used!

ABS Global, Select Sires, and Accelerated Genetics are three that come to mind right off. Each of them would have a large selection, and would almost certainly have a sales rep in your area. Accelerated Genetics has been listing bulls in the Select Sires catalogs, so I'm not sure if they still sell directly or not.